Year of the Bookwormz: 2011

52 weeks. 2 friends. 1 challenge.

Book #12: LibraryLove February 24, 2010


Forever Lily:  An Unexpected Mother’s Journey to Adoption in China by Beth Nonte Russell

Book description~

When Beth Nonte Russell travels to China to help her friend Alex adopt a baby girl from an orphanage there, she thinks it will be an adventure, a chance to see the world. But her friend, who had prepared for the adoption for many months, panics soon after being presented with the frail baby, and the situation develops into one of the greatest challenges of Russell’s life. Russell, watching in disbelief as Alex distances herself from the child, cares for the baby — clothing, bathing, and feeding her — and makes her feel secure in the unfamiliar surroundings. Russell is overwhelmed and disoriented by the unfolding drama and all that she sees in China, and yet amid the emotional turmoil finds herself deeply bonding with the child. She begins to have dreams of an ancient past — dreams of a young woman who is plucked from the countryside and chosen to be empress, and of the child who is ultimately taken from her. As it becomes clear that her friend — whose indecisiveness about the adoption has become a torment — won’t be bringing the baby home, Russell is amazed to realize that she cannot leave the baby behind and that her dreams have been telling her something significant, giving her the courage to open her heart and bring the child home against all odds.

“Will you take her?” is not a question you’d expect to hear your best friend ask, who you’ve accompanied to China, to help her adopt a baby…

That’s the basic storyline here. Alex realizes once she gets to China, and actually comes face to face with her brand new adoptive baby that it’s too much for her to manage. The book then vaguely discusses the legalities of their options. About 1/3 of this book was enjoyable. Another 1/3 was filler dream sequences, and the other 1/3 was flashback scenes.

The lack of continuity in this book fell flat for me pretty early on. Maybe because I’m soaking books up this year like a sponge, I had high hopes and expect a book to grip me immediately. There are SO many amazing books on my ‘to be read’ (TBR) list, I don’t want to spend time reading mediocre books. Sure, I was roped back in when the twist showed up, but it was short lived. I wanted to like it. I really did.  I am so intrigued by the international adoption process and was hoping to learn more about a topic I previously knew nothing about. I love challenging myself to learn about foreign topics.  Reading is a great way to do this. But alas, I’m still on the hunt. Unfortunately, when page 2 began a string of hokey dream sequences that reared their ugly head what seemed like every other page, all momentum was lost.  Any hope of rising action was lost. I don’t recommend this book and I feel bad for saying that.  I expected to learn more about the impetus behind the couple deciding to actually adopt, and the mechanics of the adoption process because it would have given the reader a better insight as to just how in the world Alex could have changed her mind at the drop of a hat.

Have you read a great book on international adoption? If so, please drop me a comment below, I’d love to give this topic a second chance!

2/5 stars

12 down, 40 to go!

In progress: Memoirs of a Geisha (audiobook),  The Girl’s Guide to Being the Boss Without Being a Bitch

Xoxo,
LibraryLove

 

3 Responses to “Book #12: LibraryLove”

  1. Planet Books Says:

    Yeah, that twist really pissed me off too know that I remember it. I would recommend WAITING FOR DAISY if you are looking for another book about international adoption. I think it was more enjoyable. I have a copy of it and if you like, I’ll bring it tomorrow to dinner/movie. Here’s the link to the book on Amazon for more info.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1596910178/ref=oss_product

  2. Planet Books Says:

    Just read the description and this one is about infertility treatment, not adoption but I think I liked it. Oops!

  3. Thank you so much, I’d actually LOVE to read that book if you don’t mind bringing it tomorrow despite the other 2 books of yours I still have from the O’Connor Archives! And hey, not only do I not know ANYTHING about infertility treatment, but after our conversation about Clomid, I am very AGAINST it for many reasons (spiritual, biological). Because of that, I’d absolutely LOVE to hear the argument FOR it. This year is all about expanding my horizons. The world is SO big and my understanding of it is SO small and I want to understand it all! So bring on Daisy!!! Thank you dearie!

    Xoxo,

    LibraryLove


Leave a Reply

